Accounting is me 

Over 9 years ago I had a feeling id like accounting. 8 years ago I took an accounting class and killlled it. And 6 years ago I decided I was going to go all the way. I got my degree in accounting 6 years later without ever working a day in accounting. I still had no way of knowing if I’d like it. 

8 months ago I took my first job as a senior accountant at a dealership. Not only is this industry fast paced, but it is very interesting to me and there’s tons to be learned. I can be working on something and not realize 4+ hours have past, I’ve skipped dinner, haven’t had a bathroom break in hours, and suddenly find myself alone in a thunder storm. 

It’s brought out my best qualities that I’ve always known were there but have all come together at the same time. I was made for this. 

I love the accountability of accounting. I love that I can spot a mistake, investigate it, and immediately trace it back to a time, place, and person. The numbers never lie. I love that it pushes me to be better. Everything, the good or the bad, is an opportunity to further myself and better myself. Not only do I learn more about accounting, business as a whole, the auto dealer industry, but I learn a lot about who I am and why accountability kicks ass and what will instantly grind my gears. 

I’m pretty lucky that a feeling I had 9 years ago has come to fruition and that it compliments exactly who I am as a person and in only 8 months, I’ve achieved more than I dreamed of and I am starting to see a career path for myself. I have so much to learn but my constant drive and need to know keeps me going. 
This whole experience has been dream-like. I could never have imagined this. 

Leave a comment