Why? and Why Me?

Why another blog? Well, in the last 5 years, whenever I have been faced with a huge life changing moment or event in my life, I have turned to writing and documenting the process and why I deserve it as well as solidifying the reasons why it is important to me in the first place. The first instance being when I decided to go back to school for my Accounting Degree. I listed every reason why this was important to do NOW. Next I wrote about the entire process of finding out about the trip of my dreams and going on that trip and everything in between in order to make it happen. I found this to have a huge positive impact on me and vital to me accomplishing these huge moments in my life. Now I am faced with another huge event that will continue to shape me into the person I want to be and the life I want for myself.

I have decided to do my accounting designation sooner rather than later for a number of reasons (in a future post) and to also work in a firm. I am currently in the interview process and I thought it would be helpful for me to straighten out my thoughts on why I should be hired (which is an extremely hard question for me to answer because I am not competitive and not good on my feet when it comes to talking about myself) so I thought I would test it out here first.

Why me?

Because I have a unique background. I have six years of work experience in positions that have given me a wide range of exposure and responsibility which have taught me the importance of building and maintaining stakeholder relationships both internal and external to an organization, as well as building my communication skills to all of these stakeholder groups.  I also work in a very diverse office very similar to business consultancy which I can use to refer clients to similar services at your firm which I know is an area that your firm would like to increase its revenue in in the coming years. Having an accountant with a good understanding in this area would be a good start to achieving this target. I have also had the opportunity to work with highly sensitive information and I am very familiar with FOIP and maintaining high standards of confidentiality. I have worked extremely hard in both my education and in my professional experience and my exceptional performance level and drive to succeed will continue throughout my designation.

Any feedback you can provide me would be appreciated!!

r

Leave a comment